Apply NOw! 

Engineering Program Beginning Spring 2024 -- Cost-Free for CT High School Students 14-18!

Free & Fun

High Tech Training

For CT High School Students

The Engineering Primer program is a new opportunity for high school aged students in CT to get training and experience in new manufacturing technologies! This 12-week program is offered cost-free to CT residents 14-18.

Our team introduces the many aspects of product creation, engineering and manufacturing. Students can design and produce a working prototype while learning how everyday objects get made.

While diving into the below steps, students will build condence using the natural steps of product design, and take ownership of parts they produce.

There is a shortage of hands-on, creative talent and this program can help students better understand the steps to successful careers in Industrial Design, Mechanical and Electrical Engineering.

We promise new skills, that open minds and help young adults to think creatively!

You will participate in three main areas of study in the following disciplines:

DESIGN IT with CAD:

A product development overview with sketching, blue-print study and a move into digital modeling. All product design and engineering starts with Computer Aided Design (CAD).

CREATE IT with 3D PRINTERS:

This step introduces 3D printing, also known as Additive Manufacturing. Students prep, edit and print parts. When a part is printed it becomes “real” and it can be held and used.

ELECTRIFY IT:

Using this hands-on experience, students become familiar with lab equipment by soldering electronic components. This includes studying circuits, wires, lights, and displays.

USE OUR SHOP:

All students enrolled become members of MakerspaceCT for a couple months and can use our innovation center during open hours to continue working on their creations!

SCHEDULE

Spring 2024

Cohort C is Tuesdays and Thursdays 6pm-8:30pm, March 5, 2023 - May 23, 2024


Cohort D is Saturdays 10am-2pm, March 2, 2023 - May 25, 2024


Scroll to the bottom of this page to see the detailed schedules.



Choose your cohort:

SPACE IS LIMITED, APPLY TODAY

No events available

The program is in-person at our

facility in Downtown Hartford


MakerspaceCT

36 Talcott Street

Hartford, CT

(G. Fox Building)


COHORT C:

Cohort C is Tuesdays and Thursdays, March 5th through May 23rd. Each session is 6pm - 8:30pm.

Week 1: Mar 05 & Mar 07, 2024: Tue/Thu, 6:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Week 2: Mar 12 & Mar 14, 2024: Tue/Thu, 6:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Week 3: Mar 19 & Mar 21, 2024: Tue/Thu, 6:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Week 4: Mar 26 & Mar 28, 2024: Tue/Thu, 6:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Week 5: Apr 02 & Apr 04, 2024: Tue/Thu, 6:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Week 6: Apr 09 & Apr 11, 2024: Tue, 6:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Week 7: Apr 16 & Apr 18, 2024: Tue/Thu, 6:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Week 8: Apr 23 & Apr 25, 2024: Tue/Thu, 6:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Week 9: Apr 30 & May 02, 2024: Tue/Thu, 6:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Week 10: May 07 & May 09, 2024: Tue/Thu, 6:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Week 11: May 14 & May 16, 2024: Tue/Thu, 6:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Week 12: May 21 & May 23, 2024: Tue/Thu, 6:00 PM - 8:30 PM


COHORT D:

Cohort B is Saturdays, March 2nd through May 25th. Each session is 10am - 2pm.

Week 1: Mar 02, 2024: Sat, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Week 2: Mar 09, 2024: Sat, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Week 3: Mar 16, 2024: Sat, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Week 4: Mar 23, 2024: Sat, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Week 5: Apr 06, 2024: Sat, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Week 6: Apr 13, 2024: Sat, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Week 7: Apr 20, 2024: Sat, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Week 8: Apr 27, 2024: Sat, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Week 9: May 04, 2024: Sat, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Week 10: May 11, 2024: Sat, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Week 11: May 18, 2024: Sat, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Week 12: May 25, 2024: Sat, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM


Each cohort runs for 12 program weeks. 

Please choose a cohort based on your best availability for the program weeks.

Brought to you by:


Generously funded by the Hartford Foundation For Public Giving


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software